Charting our Trajectory #Acts17Series

Acts17 26-27

Hello friends! One night God led me to read Acts 17. He spoke to me in so many different ways that I plan to write a series of blog posts on this one chapter. Enjoy my first installation in my #Acts17Series. 

When we dream our futures as little kids, we imagine our lives’ trajectories. Where do we want our lives to go? We aspire to be doctors, teachers, lawyers, astronauts, veterinarians, actresses, and etcetera. As we grow older, our aspirations become more abstract. We aim our lives for success, money, or happiness.

In Acts 17:26-27, Paul talks about how God calls our lives to a different trajectory: We are called to our Heavenly Father. 

He says,

26And He has made from one blood every nation of men to dwell on all the face of the earth, and has determined their preappointed times and the boundaries of their dwellings, 27so that they should seek the Lord, in the hope that they might grope for Him and find Himthough He is not far from each one of us;

God, as the almighty Creator, planned our entire lives, every single detail from the very beginning. Just as Paul says in verse 27, God created our path in life that we may seek and find Him.

Where do you find God in your life? Though you cannot see Him, you can find Him. And we must not think of Him as a physical object or idol. (Paul speaks more of this in the chapter) Think harder. Where do you find God in your life?

I find God in His word, my quiet time with Him, my church, my friends, my community. I encounter his Spirit everyday in the way He manifests Himself in His people. These moments when we encounter Him are vital to a healthy relationship with Him.

If you cannot find Him, if you don’t see God’s presence in your life, if you don’t believe there is a God, maybe you’re not on the path he created for you. And that’s okay! No one can follow God’s path their entire life. We all are led astray, especially me. Even when we are not on the right path, as Paul says in verse 27, God is still with us, so close. We just need to seek Him.

When you seek God, he will meet you where you’re at, no matter where you are, no matter how entrenched in you are in sin. God will meet you, because when you yearn for your Heavenly Father, you are fulfilling His plan.

I hope this post encouraged you in some way. I pray you seek the Lord this week and encounter Him in new ways. Stay tuned next week for my next #Acts17Series post!

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 4.47.50 PM

Leave a Reply

