Letting God be your Gardener | A Word from Isaiah and John

I was just flipping through my bible tonight, trying to go to Psalms. I stopped in Isaiah 30 because I remembered a blog post (will link soon) that mentioned one of the verses:

“Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,
“This is the way, walk in it,”
Whenever you turn to the right hand
Or whenever you turn to the left.”
Isaiah 30:21
Essentially, God will guide you in your life with his voice, whether it’s through a loved one, a friend, a stranger, or God Himself. We always pray for God to speak to us, but we often forget to adjust our ears and hearts to listen to Him. It’s about posture. You can’t come up on God just any kind of way. Imagine you’re approaching His throne in heaven. You’re about to talk to GOD. You wouldn’t strut up to his throne and yell your bold demands. Or at least I wouldn’t. We must come to Him humbled and submissive, but with open hearts to whatever He wants to pour in.
As I read this verse, I continued, and down the page, this seemingly meaningless verse popped out at me.

“Then He will give the rain for your seed with which you sow the ground, and bread of the increase of the Earth. It will be fat and plentiful. In that day your cattle will feed In large pastures.”

Isaiah 30:23

Isaiah’s words reminded me of my DC church’s sermon series about the grain metaphor in John 12:14. We must die to self to be fruitful in the Spirit. Isaiah’s words reminded me of Jesus talking about the ripe harvest of the Earth in John 4:35. Do you see how much I love farming symbolism?

I have another symbol for you. According to this scripture, we each have a seed. When God rains his blessings, those seeds grow into something beautiful, a fruit others can feed of and receive the same nutrients. I know, it’s corny. The common biblical fruit symbol is not my point. There’s no point in having seed if you won’t grow it. Think of the symbol in this way:

Have your parents ever told you to do something and you completely ignored them? I know I have. Nine times out of 10 that job would have benefited me, taught me a good lesson, but I missed out on the opportunity.

Have you done the same thing with God? Have you ignored God’s calling in your life? That is your seed! You’ve always had it; God gave it to you at the start of your life; it was just a matter of you realizing your assignment. But you’ve taken all of God’s rain, his blessings, for yourself and your earthly desires. You don’t even know the divine opportunities you’re missing.

Why Do We Like to Ignore Our Seeds? 

I have two theories: selfish laziness and intimidation. Sometimes we just want to do what we want to do. We desire and pursue pleasure, physical and earthly pleasure that is. Like this Earth, that pleasure perishes quickly. We use our gifts to fulfill such desires. We get caught in a cycle of pleasure-seeking. As soon as the satisfaction dies down, we’re off to looking for the next thing. Talk about being thirsty. #John4

Other times, we ignore our seeds because we’re intimidated by them. I fall into this category. I have a seed. God’s watered it and called me to a rather large project. (I won’t say what it is yet) He called me months ago. I know what He wants, but I haven’t done anything. Why? I’m intimidated by the daunting task, with that feeling comes anxiety and fear of failure.

Anyone else afraid of how big God’s purpose is? Maybe I’m writing to myself, but if someone understands this feeling, know this: God’s asking a lot, but he is not asking you to do it alone. That’s what His rain is for. God rains his power, strength, courage, grace, all to help you fulfill His divine purpose for your life!

Rain On Us, Shower Down!

If you want purpose, if you want success, if you want meaning in your life, find it no where than in bringing glory to Christ. When you let the living water rain on your seed and nourish God’s purpose in you in new ways, your potential will stretch far and wide. You will accomplish things you never thought you could. I personally have witnessed this in my own life. I’ve learned you just have to let God rain on your seeds.

Leave a Reply

