A Beginning and an End

********written Thursday May 7, 2015**********

5.7.2015

Today is my birthday. God has officially blessed me with 20 years of life. As an introvert, birthdays prompt introspective reflection. I am starting to realize what it means for me to be finished with my second semester of my sophomore year of college, while at the same time starting my 20s, my third decade of life. At 20, I am at an end of half of my college career and a beginning of one of the most pivotal decades of my life.

I came into this year more nervous, scared, and worried than I had been in a while. I had a lot piled on my plate in the next semester: an internship, four classes, a seven-day missions trip to Georgia, and leading a bible study myself. The weight was overwhelming. I didn’t want to go back to school and face the coming unknown. I was worried I would have to quit organizations and change my schedule and give up activities I enjoy. I didn’t want to go back to school and face the intimidating semester.

But then I just did it. I led a bible study by myself, completed 13 credits of classes including two honors credits, went on a missions trip and completed a part-time internship. I’m not saying all this to boast, but to attribute these accomplishments to God. It was by his strength, his peace, and his grace that I triumphed over this semester. God put all of these responsibilities on my plate purposely not to see me fall, but to show me how much I can carry when I trust and lean into Him to help me carry the weight.

But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Matthew 6:33-34

I don’t have to be afraid of my future when it’s in God’s hands. 

So today, my heart is filled with God’s joy and happiness and all of his praise! He gave me 20 years of life. Life with worth. With purpose. With continuous joy, love, and blessings! What a gift. God is such a giving God that He is worthy of all the praise! I sing this Jesus Culture song of praise on repeat in my head and in my heart:

“God you pursue me with power and glory
Unstoppable Love that never ends!”

He’s pursued me since day one to join Him in His Kingdom, and he’s not finished working in me yet! I trust that in God’s grace I have a bright future.

I cannot wait to see what God has in store for my future!

Leave a Reply

