Revisiting the Woman at the Well

Quick Life Update: It’s been a while since I posted a blog post. No need to be alarmed. I did not fall from God or get writers block or give up on the blog. I’ve been busy. As a college student, I had midterms. Afterward, I spent a weekend doing God’s work in Georgia on a missions trip with my campus ministry. Finally, God laid something new on my heart to share.

woman at the well

The Woman at the Well: one of the most well-known Bible stories that I, like many of you especially if you grew up Christians, had heard about, but never read for my own before. A few days ago, God led me to John 4:1-42.

For those of you who don’t know the story, here’s a summary in informal language: Jesus meets a Samaritan woman at a well. He asks for a drink. The Samaritan woman asks why He’s asking her because Samaritans and Jews do not normally associate. He explains if she knew who He was, she would be asking him for water because Jesus is the living water. After hearing Jesus, the Samaritan woman goes into town and tells everyone of her spiritual encounter. The Samaritans went to see Jesus and came to believe in Him because of the Samaritan going to them and sharing her story.

God’s word is so good. More than words, but food. This passage is evidence of how the Bible can be spiritual nourishment. This passage of the Bible spoke so much truth and affirmation into my life. I’d like to share with you particular verses that God highlighted in my heart:

A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, “Give Me a drink.”  For His disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.
Then the woman of Samaria said to Him, “How is it that You, being a Jew, ask a drink from me, a Samaritan woman?” For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.
Maybe I’m the only one, but has ever God asked you to do something and you couldn’t say yes or no, just “why me?” That question is more of a question for ourselves than for God. He knows why He chose us. For example, have you ever been moved by God to go somewhere and talk to a particular person? I haven’t, but I know people who have and have had people come to me. Why does he want you to go pray for that stranger across the room? Because He chose you!
11 The woman said to Him, “Sir, You have nothing to draw with, and the well is deep. Where then do You get that living water? 12 Are You greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well, and drank from it himself, as well as his sons and his livestock?” 13 Jesus answered and said to her, “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, 14 but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.”
The famous living water: Jesus and His word are the living water. God gave us this living water to maintain our spiritual health and quench our spiritual thirst for Him. As Jesus said, it’s not about physical needs. Those do not last always. Your spirit can be made eternal through belief in Jesus Christ and his resurrection. You must keep your eternal spirit healthy by nourishing it with God’s word.

34 Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.

Even more than the living water, you need spiritual food. You need to do God’s work. God’s work fulfills your life on a new level.

35 Do you not say, ‘There are still four months and then comes the harvest’? Behold, I say to you, lift up your eyes and look at the fields, for they are already white for harvest!

Behold! Before us lies the world, a harvest waiting to be reaped. Jesus called us to disciple His people and lead them to Him, just as the woman at the well does.

42 Then they said to the woman, “Now we believe, not because of what you said, for we ourselves have heard Him and we know that this is indeed the Christ, the Savior of the world.”

This is probably my favorite and the most important verse. The woman at the well testified to her encounter with Jesus. She was filled with the living water, a testimony about Jesus to draw people to His word. Her testimony’s importance wasn’t just in telling God’s word, but leading the people to hear Jesus and His word for themselves! In ministry, we must lead God’s people to His Word. In reading this verse again tonight, I realized God’s word and the evidence of His Word being fulfilled (as seen in the woman’s testimony) draws God’s children to Him. God’s telling us how to be good disciplers: Share His Word and your testimony.


After reading this, I had the urge to tell someone about this (you blog readers in particular). And then I realized … I am the woman at the well!

Because of this word, the inspiration of the woman at the well, I cannot keep quiet. I cannot stop blogging. This is why I must testify to how good the Lord really is.

I pray God spoke to you through His word in someway as He spoke to me. I pray blessings and fountains of living water in your life!

Yours truly, God’s faithful servant,

Bryana

Leave a Reply

