A Refilling and Refueling of the Holy Spirit | XA 2015 Winter Retreat Reflection Part 2

What does it mean to be refilled with the Holy Spirit? Clarity, peace, a new joy, ease at doing his work, a new energy, a new enthusiasm to do His work…

Note: This post was originally written February 12, 2015

For those of you who do not know, I am a part of Chi Alpha Campus Ministries at my university. Last week, I went to Chi Alpha’s regional Winter Retreat and as I said in my part one post, I had “the temptation of an old sin released.”

This is the second part to my reflection. Since it’s been almost a week since retreat, I thought it is time for me to reflect on the week after and how I’ve lived my life since.

I do feel different. I have that peace of mind, that overwhelming joy that in praising the Lord. Tonight, my school’s Chi Alpha held a Thursday night worship service called TNW (cleverly).  In that atmosphere of God’s presence with the same worship songs play, the service brought me back to Winter Retreat. I got caught up in the worship and reveled in God’s presence in the room. I couldn’t help but introspectively reflect. Here is what I discovered within my thoughts. This post is inspired by the worship songs performed tonight:

Where the Spirit of the Lord Is by Hillsong

For we know the truth
Your truth has set us free
In Your Name alone
We have been released
You are here with us!

“Believe in the truth and the truth should set you free.” Such a common Christian phrase, but this song and my spiritual encounter really puts it to a new meaning. At the end of the day, all I know that is really true is God’s existence. My belief in Him and his presence in my life is what allowed us to have the connection I had that night at Winter Retreat. Because of our relationship and my willingness to submission, he could break the chains of my sin. God loves you no matter what, but God asks us to repent from our sins so we can move on. His forgiveness is our freedom!

Ever Be by Bethel Music

Faithful You have been and faithful you will be
You pledge yourself to me and it’s why I sing
Your praise will ever be on my lips

I’ve used this song so many times, there’s no need to explain its significance. Just listen to this and read my blog post about why this is my praise anthem.

Set a Fire by Jesus Culture

Set a fire down in my soul … There’s no place I’d rather be than here in your love.

I finally figured out the meaning of this song. I used to be uncomfortable asking for more of God. Then, I realized this song is actually about the Holy Spirit. We want more of God (in the Holy Spirit form) in our lives, we want more of him filling us to the point of an overflow so that through him we are blessings in others’ lives.

Fire is fuel, energy to keep going. That is part of the Holy Spirit’s job: to help keep us living our lives for Christ. In praise and worship, revel in God’s presence, His palpable Spirit, inside and out.

Awake my Soul 

Awake, awake, awake my soul,
God resurrect these bones
From death to life, for You alone

God’s encouragement is our empowerment from the Holy Spirit. In receiving and be continually refueled by the Holy Spirit, may our souls be awakened by our new identity, who we are in Him. After my spiritual encounter, I can confidently testify to this awakened sense of being.


So in summary, from part one to part two, in the temptation of my old sin being released, God opened a new hole to not just refill me, but refuel me like an engine with more drive to do his will. God newly fulfilled me with His Holy Spirit. God fought my battle against sin, broke the chains and won!

I am victorious!

Leave a Reply

