A Leader? Who, me? – 2014 Reflection

If it had not been for the shaking,
I never would have been ready for the making.
If it had not been for the beating,
I would have never knew how anointed I would be.
If it had not been for the pressing,
I wouldn’t be able to walk into my destiny.
He’s preparing me for greater…

Greater is Coming by Jekalyn Carr aka my anthem for ringing in this new year


Happy New Year! I wish you all the best in 2015. God gave you this year. Make the most of it. Now, I’m sure I’m not the only person facing an unknown future in the coming months. I wanted to provide a word of encouragement for those who are facing events or decisions they’re afraid to face.

First, let me explain where I’m coming from: Last year, God released the leader within me. Despite me being the eldest daughter of my parents, before this past semester, I never thought of myself as a natural leader, but this semester has proved otherwise. I began co-leading a bible study at my university. As soon as that started, more leadership opportunities opened up in my academics. I had group projects upon group projects. Sometimes, I, for some reason I don’t know, stepped up to the plate in somewhat leading the groups. At the end of the semester, my professor went around the classroom and imbued nuggets of knowledge on to each other. Basically, she declared what she had seen in each student after a semester’s work.

My professor, whom I hardly know, looked me the eye and told me, “You are a leader.”

I’m not sure how I feel about that. If there is an inkling of leader in me, it feels okay. It’s kind of uncomfortable. But God keeps opening up more and more leadership opportunities to me. Especially now.

The bliss of the holiday of season is over, and God has placed a boat-load of responsibilities on my back. Without going into detail, I am overwhelmed with pressure and pressing decisions. I have one of the busiest years ahead of me. I don’t know what lies ahead or how I will face it, but I do know is that as long as I keep my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ near to my heart, I can faced anything in the future. I have a lot on my plate. Honestly, I am scared. At first, I did not believe I can do what God wants me to do.

Like me, do you feel burdened or overwhelmed by a task God has given you? 

Allow me to offer some encouragement I have received from the Lord. I’ve prayed to Him and still don’t know what to decide, but I do have this encouraging piece of his word to carry in my heart for comfort.

But the Lord stood with me and strengthened me, so that the message might be preached fully through me, and that all the Gentiles might hear. Also I was delivered out of the mouth of the lion.

II Timothy 4:17

Remember, God has faith in you even when you don’t. He is not asking you to do anything alone. In the hardest of times, he will be with you to comfort and strengthen you in each difficult step you take. 

Leave a Reply

