The Importance of Gratitude

But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.

Colossians 3:14-15

hallelujahAn Ode to my Granny

Recently, I found out that probably the only reason I can go to college and study public relations and live in Washington DC and be in Chi Alpha is my Granny. She passed away the summer after my junior year of high school from Alzheimer’s Disease. Apparently, my dad invested the money she left when she died and that became my college fund! She really loved me. She really wanted to be successful. So much so that she invested in me. I only wish I could tell her thank you.

I remember when she was getting close, and I had the opportunity to say goodbye over the phone. Choked up with tears, all I could say is how much I loved her. Why didn’t I say thank you?

This discovery reminds me that I always need to be grateful. I would not be where I am today, so successful and blessed, without my family and God’s blessings in their lives. Without my mom and dad and grandma and granny and granddaddy and grandpa and beyond. I would not be here. Because of God’s blessings in their lives, I am blessed.

I will be forever grateful and praising the worthy Lord and Jesus Christ for blessing my family.

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother,” which is the first commandment with promise.

Ephesians 6:1-2

More Miracles

I’ve never told this story in public before, but like I’ve said it before, my story is for someone else, only God knows.

For many of you who don’t know, I am a living, walking miracle. On May 7, 1995, I was born three months too early. I spent 90 days in an incubator fighting for my life, but even after I left the hospital, I wasn’t perfectly healthy yet. Some time later, I was diagnosed with Hydrocephalus, a chronic neurological medical condition. The doctors caught it early enough that I did not have major deformities or brain damage. I would live a normal life for the most part. I can walk, talk, and think just as the average person. God gave me a chance at life to enjoy his Earth and touch lives and serve his glorious name.

Among Hydrocephalus patients, I am lucky. No, I am blessed.

I live with it to this day. And I like the National Hydrocephalus Association on Facebook. This morning while I was scrolling through my Facebook news feed I came across one of their posts. I clicked to their page and scrolled through the posts from other people on the page. I read a heartbreaking account of a man who has had Hydrocephalus since birth like me, but suffered more complications. Because of nerve and brain damage from Hydrocephalus, he has limited use of his arms. He lives in pain almost everyday. I clicked on his profile page, and I saw his cover photo: a picture of several open cuts in his wrists.

That could have been me. That would have been me. If it wasn’t for God’s love.

I lift him up in prayer, that God’s love gives him comfort and hope in his times of pain. That he can find meaning and purpose in his life. His story is for someone else.

It is only by God’s love and goodness and mercy that I am here to write to you today. I will be forever grateful for each day God gives me.

Leave a Reply

