In Need of a Push

Sorry I haven’t written a post in a while. That whole exited to write again kick has worn off. I had to force myself to get on today. But I’m on and writing. And even though I have no clue what to write about, this is what my faith in God is for.

I. Must. Push. Through. The. Writer’s. Block.

Ending my day with some sweet devotional time with my Lord and Savior

Blogging is a part of it. For reflection. Now Playing: Sinking Deep by Hillsong Live

Standing here in your presence
In a grace so relentless
I am won by perfect love
Wrapped within arms of heaven
In a peace that last forever
Sinking deep in mercy’s sea
I’m wide awake, drawing close, stirred by grace
And all my heart is yours
All fear removed, I breathe you in, I lean into
Your love

This song reminds me of how far I’ve come this semester. Earlier in the year, God convicted me with this song. Part of the bridge says, “Jesus Christ, You are my one desire. Lord hear my only cry, to know you all my life.” Earlier in the semester,

Thanks Nikki Phillipi! (Sorry if I miss spelled your name!)

Right before I started my devotional time, I watched Nikki’s latest vlogmas video. She talked about how she didn’t have tattoos, but if she got one it would be about James 1:27 I decided to look more into it during my devo. I read the whole chapter to understand the context of the verse. Paul begins talking about how Christians profit from our struggles. What particularly spoke to me was when he said blessed is he who endures temptations. For me, temptations are the worst. I have a hard time resisting the temptations of this Earth. We all, Christian or not, experience in our lives. But the key is to not let those temptations, those strong, sinful desires of the flesh, draw you away from God. Verse 15 says, “Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death.” Submitting to our temptation leads us into I know firsthand how that feels. Don’t let yourself spiral into temptation. Because as easy as it was to fall, it will be that much harder to crawl back up out of the pit of temptation. That is what separates the strong faith from the weak. Only recently have I begun to talk about my temptations with God. Even if sometimes it is out of annoyance. At least I am recognizing God’s presence in my situation. It is only through God’s strength he imbues in us that we can resist temptation. Finally I reached James 1:27, in the context, Paul talks about how you cannot just hear and read the word of God. You must act upon it. This verse is an example.

Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

James 1:27 NIV

Religion–meaning as the right religious practice that is pure and faultless and acceptable to God’s throne who does not accept sin– is acting on God’s words the way Jesus did. Visiting the downtrodden. Looking after our brethren. And ultimately, keeping us from being polluted from this world. Doing so includes what James discussed before: resisting temptation.

Family Time is one of my many joys this Christmas Season

Over the weekend, I made Christmas reefs with my mom and played video games with my sister. I talked with my dad. After being away from home for so long, I forgot what relaxation really was. It’s not Youtube or TV or mindlessness. It’s spending time with the people you love. As an introvert, I find socializing exhausting. Spending time with family doesn’t feel that way. I guess because I’ve been with them all my life. I talk to them everyday. It doesn’t seem like a chore. instead it’s an opposite. It’s a joy.

II Timothy 2

It’s at times like this I amaze myself. In the past of my Christian walk, the one aspect I have always lacked in is Bible reading. I knew I should read my bible daily, but I could never get in the habit. James 1: 21 says, “Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls.” Humble yourself to the word of our almighty Father. But now suddenly, I want to and actually do read the bible in my leisure time starting with II Timothy this Winter Break. I set a goal for myself to finish it January 12. Suddenly, I have this drive, determination, and thirst for God’s word. Amazed, I ask: What happened? What has changed in me?

In the words of Hillsong, “I can see you now. I can see the love in your eyes. Laying yourself down, raising up the broken to life. Amazing Grace! How sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now I’m found. Was blind, but now I see.”

I encountered, contemplated, and saw God’s love in a new way.

Who doesn’t want to know a God like that?

 

Leave a Reply

