What did you just say to me, God?!

I don’t know who needs to hear this, but God does. Here is an excerpt from my notes during my most recent quality time with God.

Our relationship with God is meant to be personal, but not private.

These notes are based on Luke 1:26-38

Lately, in what God has spoken to me, one buzzword keeps coming up: potential. Within this passage of Luke, verses 31 and 32 specifically spoke to me: “You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus. He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David.” Here, the angel explicitly says Mary will give birth to a son, but no average human, someone greater: Jesus Christ Our Lord and Savior.

What is God’s personal invitation for me from this scripture? I am not Mary. I will never give birth to the Lord Jesus Christ. But I too hold something great inside of me. Potential! Thus, God invites me to ignite that fire he put in my soul. So I asked Him to be more specific. What do I have potential to do? What is my fire?  Then I remembered one of my first blog posts, where I explain how God called me to write again after many years of writer’s block. I don’t have His whole message figured out yet, but I see my fire to be my willingness and eagerness to spread the Gods’ word. How?

For people who are reading this who also are friends with me on Facebook, you know I post on Facebook a lot.  I can’t help it! As soon as something happens in my life, I have to tell someone. I have always been eager to share a story. I always thought that was a negative part of me. That I was being selfish, but tonight God revealed to me that there is power in such storytelling. I touch so many lives in ways I don’t even know. Every bible verse or song lyric or encouraging word I say or write. It could mean something to someone in a way I cannot understand. God can speak through my words. In my life, God often likes to speak to me through people. I never thought before: what if God uses me in that way to speak to other people?  Through the empowering Holy Spirit, I have the power to touch lives with God’s words.

Sometimes I wish I was ordinary, but then I remember God didn’t make me that way. God didn’t make you that way either.

The ordinary haven’t discovered the extraordinary in them yet.

It’s a matter of finding that fire he put in our souls, igniting that potential for greatness. Through this, you will stand out and shine bright above the darkness on Earth.

After receiving this word from God, of course I had doubt. I’m sure some of you have felt the same way. I wondered: is this really God speaking to me?

Sometimes, it is undeniably God’s voice. For those of you who are questioning if God is speaking to you, ask yourself: Who else would say this?  Does this sound like the devil? How did this thought enter my mind?  The word of God is always from a place of comfort and love. If what you heard feels that way, it’s from God. Therefore, I believe I could only be led to this revelation through the prompting of God Himself.

If this touches you in any way, please comment below. Share your thoughts, share what God is speaking to you so that those words become real in your life!

Blessings,

Bryana

Leave a Reply

